Clean Eating Reboot

I’ll freely admit that I have not been doing a very good job of eating clean for quite a few months now. I can blame that on stress, busyness, major surgery, and a host of other things, but the truth is that those are merely excuses. All those excuses certainly play a role in my life, but they are simply things that happen in the course of life. They do not define me, and they certainly should not have any power over me. I have reached the point where I am thoroughly disgusted with my eating habits and ready to jump back on the clean eating wagon. I know it won’t be easy. This is the crazy, busy part of our year, so my organization and determination are often about as strong as paper-mache in the rain.

Since I am about to re-boot this lifestyle change, here are the basics of clean eating:

What to do:

  1. Eat more. Aim for six small meals a day.
  2. Eat breakfast every day.
  3. Eat lean protein and complex carbohydrates at each meal.
  4. Eat two or three servings of healthy fats every day.
  5. Drink two to three litres of water each day.
  6. Eat fresh fruit and vegetables for fibre, vitamins, nutrients and enzymes.
  7. Proper portion sizes

What to avoid:

  1. All over-processed foods, especially white flour and sugar
  2. Chemically charged foods
  3. Foods containing preservatives
  4. Artificial sugars
  5. Artificial foods
  6. Saturated and trans fats
  7. Sugar-loaded beverages
  8. Alcohol
  9. Calorie-dense, low nutrition foods
  10. Super-sizing your meals

 

Leave a Reply

