Salsa!

I love fresh, homemade salsa! Seriously, I could eat the entire bowl, with or without tortilla chips. It is so easy to make, and tastes so much better than anything bottled.

My recipe is not exact and easily adaptable to personal taste.

In a medium-sized bowl add: 3 cored and diced tomatoes, 2 pressed cloves of garlic, a 1/4 red onion minced, 1 jalapeno pepper minced, a handful of cilantro chopped, fresh ground pepper and coarse sea salt, and fresh lime juice. Toss.

If you like your salsa hot, add more jalapeno. My heat tolerance is not too great, so one jalapeno is usually enough to make my mouth burn without being too spicy hot. You could use parsley instead of cilantro, but I personally find that lacking in flavour. I love cilantro.

Some day I want to try adding some black beans and corn!

Leave a Reply

