Lunch

I have not been very good at bringing a lunch with me to work, but I know that doing so is a necessary step on this journey to clean eating and a healthy lifestyle. So, I bought myself a cute but functional lunch bag, and last night I prepared my lunch for today. Fat-free plain Balkan-style yogurt with fresh raspberries and blueberries. A southwest quinoa salad which I made last night.

Here is the recipe for my southwest quinoa salad, more or less, because I made it up as I went along.

You need 1 cup quinoa, cooked with chili powder and cumin, then allowed to cool. I think I used about 2 teaspoons of chili powder and 1 teaspoon of cumin.

In a large bowl combine the following:

  • the cooled quinoa
  • roughly a half cup of frozen corn niblets
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and finely minced
  • roughly a half cup of canned black beans, rinsed
  • red onion, finely minced, as much or as little as you like
  • red pepper, finely chopped
  • a handful of chopped cilantro
  • a couple pinches of Celtic sea salt
  • juice from half a lime
  • one tablespoon of olive oil
  • one tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
Leave a Reply

