Strawberry Lemonade Muffins

I received this recipe via email at the end of May, and I was instantly enticed by the combination of strawberries and lemon. This is another Damy Health recipe, so it is clean, gluten-free, grain-free, and delicious. Unlike many of their recipes, the ingredients are ‘normal’, which means I don’t have to wonder how to answer the dreaded ingredient questions from one of my kids. There are no chickpeas or sweet potato in these muffins!

I used 100% pure maple syrup instead of agave or raw honey, which is my first time using maple syrup as a sweetener. While I do use agave and raw honey most of the time, my decision today was based mainly on laziness. I don’t think I had quite enough agave, not without squeezing the bottle for half an hour, and my honey has become quite crystalized and I didn’t want to wait long enough to liquify it.

This was also the first time I used my mini muffin tin. I expect that the 24 mini muffins will not last very long at all, but I doubt that 12 regular sized muffins would last any longer than the minis. I do like having the option though, and I think I will use the mini muffin tin more often, especially with recipes from Damy Health. I do not follow Damy’s programs and there are no calorie counts for their recipes, but I do want to keep an eye on my portions.

Leave a Reply

