Crackers

The original recipe for these crackers is called Multi “Grain” Crackers, but there are actually no grains in them at all! I made a couple of changes to the original recipe, because I did not have hemp seeds or macadamia nuts on hand and did not feel like making a trip to the bulk food store today. Instead of the macadamia nuts, I used cashews. I added a bit more flax meal and sesame seeds to make up for the lack of hemp seeds. Palm oil shortening was another ingredient that I did not have, so I used coconut oil. I used a combination of white and black sesame seeds, just because I could.

When it comes to rolling out dough, I am rather pathetic, so I did not bother trying to make perfectly uniform sized and shaped crackers. I thought I had rolled the dough as thin as I could, but I think that they could have been a bit thinner. They took longer to cook than the stated 20-25 minutes, although this could be due to the stone I baked them on or not being super thin or a combination of both.

Kane and I both like the crackers. They are different but tasty, and I think a thinner product would be even better. They are super easy to make, and I think further adaptations could be made quite simply. Some Parmesan cheese? Herbs?

Leave a Reply

