Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

It’s been a long day, an unproductive day spent mostly at the ball park. Tomorrow will be more of the same, and that frustrates me just a little because tomorrow is Mother’s Day. For the past 13 years, we have spent Mother’s Day at the ball park.

My house is a disaster, because it’s been one of those weeks, and no one (as in me) has been home long enough to do any cleaning since Thursday morning. I had been anticipating only one baseball game tomorrow, but now a practice has been thrown in the mix. My frustration mounts.

Around 7:30 this evening, there was a knock on the door. My darling husband had invited a baseball coach to drop by for a beer. “Really?” I say, before he gets up to answer the door. My mind is thinking of the disaster that is everywhere: the piles of clean laundry and paperwork spread across the dining table; the kitchen counters full of dirty dishes and things not yet put away; backpacks and shoes and junk dropped here and there and everywhere; the dirty bathroom sink. I inwardly cringe and stew, while outwardly I smile.

About an hour later I was feeling snarky. I finished loading the dishwasher. I folded yet another load of laundry. Restless, frustrated energy was driving me to do something, anything that would be productive. Why not bake?

I just pulled two dozen clean pumpkin chocolate chip muffins from the oven. This was my third time making these muffins, and I played with the recipe a bit this time. Instead of using whole wheat flour, I used equal parts buckwheat flour and quinoa flour, which made these muffins gluten-free. I used Sucanat instead of the Demerara or turbinado sugar. They taste just as good.

Leave a Reply

